Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

O’Boyle opens match with pin

Ryan O'Boyle  2012 David Sinclair/McDaniel College
Ryan O'Boyle 2012 David Sinclair/McDaniel College

GRANTHAM, Pa. – Messiah won the final five bouts of the night to overcome a 19-6 deficit and defeat McDaniel 26-19 in non-conference wrestling action on Tuesday.

Mike O'Boyle (North Reading, Mass./North Reading) led the Green Terror (8-9) with a pin early in the second period as part of a fast start.

Chris Williamson notched the lone pin of the night for the 19th-ranked Falcons (13-7), breaking up a string of four straight McDaniel wins to open the night.

Trailing 19-6 after a Logan Yox (Westminster, Md./Liberty) 5-3 win at 157, Rico Plummer started the final rally for Messiah with an 11-6 win at 165.

Ben Kramer followed with a 16-1 technical fall win at 174 before Josh Thompson was awarded a forfeit at 184 to give the hosts a 20-19 lead.

Travis Ebersole's 7-3 win at 197 stretched the lead to four before Charles Jones sealed the victory with a 5-3 win at heavyweight, handing Joe Camlin (Westminster, Md./Winters Mill) his first loss of the season.

O'Boyle opened the match with a 4-minute, 30-second pin at 125 before his brother Ryan O'Boyle (North Reading, Mass./Central Catholic) stretched the lead to 10-0 with a 15-4 win at 133.

A Trey Mitchell (Lewes, Del./Caesar Rodney) fall in 3:52 pushed the advantage to 16-0 before Williamson broke up the shutout with a pin of his own with two seconds remaining in the first period.

The Green Terror returns to action at the Centennial Conference championship hosted by Johns Hopkins on Saturday. Action begins at 10 a.m.

Messiah 26, McDaniel 19
Mike O'Boyle (Mc) pinned Kurt Rodriguez 4:30; 133: Ryan O'Byole (Mc) maj. dec. Kyle Coblentz 15-4; 141: Trey Mitchell (Mc) pinned Alex Gosch 3:52; 149: Chris Williamson (Me) pinned Tim Gainesborg 2:58; 157: Logan Yox (Mc) dec. Jake English 5-3; 165: Rico Plummer (Me) dec. Josh Moore 11-6; 174: Ben Kramer (Me) tech. fell Luke Yox 16-1 (7:00); 184: Josh Thomson (Me) won by forfeit; 197: Travis Ebersole (Me) dec. Scott Forrester 7-3; HWT: Charles Jones (Me) dec. Joe Camlin 5-3.