Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Dailey to be enshrined by AFL

Coach Dailey coaches his McDaniel defense during a drill at preseason practice.
Coach Dailey coaches his McDaniel defense during a drill at preseason practice.

NEW ORLEANS, La. – The Arena Football League (AFL) announced its 2012 AFL Hall of Fame Class during halftime of the AVITAE ArenaBowl XXV on Friday. Commissioner Jerry B. Kurz announced that current McDaniel defensive coordinator Mike Dailey will forever be enshrined in AFL history.

Dailey coached in the league from 1997-2008 before joining the Green Terror staff in 2009 in his current role.

While roaming the sidelines of the indoor league, he compiled a record of 115-83 in his 12 years as a head coach. He coached in the league for a total of 19 seasons.

Dailey spent seven years at the helm of the Firebirds organization that included leading Albany to the 1999 title. He also was named Coach of the Year that same season.

His final five seasons in the AFL were at the helm of the Colorado Crush, where he guided the squad owned by John Elway to the 2005 championship.

Dailey ranks fourth all-time in the AFL in games coached, fifth in overall wins and fifth in postseason victories.

The AFL also culminated its silver anniversary by naming the 25 Greatest Teams in AFL History. Dailey had the honor of coaching two of the top-five teams. His 1999 Albany Firebirds championship team was voted the greatest in AFL history while his 2005 Colorado Crush championship team was selected fifth.

The AFL Office received ballots from the Hall of Fame Advisory Board, which consisted of a rich list of journalists and executives with a long-time involvement in the game, on Wednesday, June 20.

Each member selected ten candidates based on AFL contribution in the categories of players, coaches, administrators, officials and "at-large."

In order to be nominated for the 2012 Hall of Fame Class, candidates must meet four criteria. If a player was active before 1989, he must have played for two seasons. For players after 1989, three seasons of service are required. All players must be retired for three complete seasons. Coaches must have been active for a minimum of five seasons and need not be retired.

Fans and current Hall of Fame members voted on the finalists beginning throughout the months of June and July. Votes were then turned into the Hall of Fame Operating Board of Directors, who officially selected the 2012 AFL Hall of Fame Class.

Inductions will be held during the league's 2013 opening weekend.

In his first three seasons at McDaniel, Dailey – who also has collegiate experience at George Mason, Towson and Montgomery College – his scheme has put pressure on opposing quarterbacks game-in and game-out, recording 81 sacks and 36 interceptions. He has helped produce four first-team All-Centennial Conference selections in the last three seasons.

McDaniel opens its 2012 football season at Catholic on Friday, Aug. 31 at 7 p.m.


Making the grade
June 20, 2013 Making the grade
Making the grade
February 15, 2013 Making the grade
McDaniel at Johns Hopkins
November 7, 2012 McDaniel at Johns Hopkins
Susquehanna at McDaniel
October 31, 2012 Susquehanna at McDaniel
Yamada throws for 147
October 27, 2012 Yamada throws for 147
McDaniel at Juniata
October 24, 2012 McDaniel at Juniata
Dickinson at McDaniel
October 17, 2012 Dickinson at McDaniel
Rollins runs for 138
September 29, 2012 Rollins runs for 138
McDaniel at Gettysburg
September 26, 2012 McDaniel at Gettysburg
Rollins runs for 223
September 22, 2012 Rollins runs for 223
Ursinus at McDaniel
September 19, 2012 Ursinus at McDaniel
Rollins runs for 86
September 15, 2012 Rollins runs for 86
Muhlenberg at McDaniel
September 12, 2012 Muhlenberg at McDaniel
Emerson rushes for 153
September 8, 2012 Emerson rushes for 153
McDaniel at Moravian
September 5, 2012 McDaniel at Moravian
O'Melia catches three TDs
August 31, 2012 O'Melia catches three TDs
McDaniel at Catholic
August 29, 2012 McDaniel at Catholic