Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Six named to CC Silver Anniversary Team

Samantha Abrams makes the Centennial Conference Silver Anniversary Team for softball.
Samantha Abrams

LANCASTER, Pa. – The Centennial Conference (CC) is celebrating 25 years as one of the elite small college athletic conferences in the country with the announcement of its Silver Anniversary teams, highlighting the best of the best over our first quarter-century.

For inclusion on a Silver Anniversary team, a student must have a degree from one of the Conference institutions and met one of the following qualifications:
• 3-time or 4-time first-team All-Centennial performer
• 2-time Centennial Conference Player of the Year
• 1st team All-America AND 2-time first-team All-Centennial performer
• 2-time All-America (1st, 2nd or 3rd team)

For individual sports such as swimming and track and field, the accomplishments must have occurred in the same event.

Thirty-four players were named to the Silver Anniversary team in softball.

Among those honorees was the Green Terror's Jen Prowinski '96, Julie Backof '98, Jacie Mathias '00, Samantha Abrams '04, Kim Camponelli '04 and Caroline Brehm '15.

Prowinski was the conference Player of the Year in 1996. He earned first-team all-conference honors three times.

Backof was the CC Player of the Year in 1997 and 1998. She was also a four-time first-team all-conference selection and a first-team All-American in 1997.

Mathias was the 2000 CC Player of the Year. She also was tabbed first-team All-CC in 1997, 1998 and 2000.

Abrams was the conference Player of the Year in 2003. She was also a four-time first-team all-conference honoree.

Camponelli was 2002 CC Pitcher of the Year. She was also a four-time first-team all-conference selection.

Brehm was a four-time CC Pitcher of the Year, earning first-team honors all four seasons. She still holds the conference records for strikeouts in a season (396) and career (1,359).

The purpose of the Centennial Conference is to provide for athletic competition among institutions that share high academic aspirations and are committed to the importance of the total educational experience for students engaged in sports. Its full-time members include Bryn Mawr, Dickinson, Franklin & Marshall, Gettysburg, Haverford, McDaniel, Muhlenberg, Swarthmore, Ursinus and Washington Colleges, along with Johns Hopkins University.

The Conference was founded in 1981 as the Centennial Football Conference and began competition as an all-sports conference in the fall of 1993. The Conference crowns champions in 24 sports.