Tancredi finishes second

Mike Tancredi  2011 David Sinclair/McDaniel College
Mike Tancredi 2011 David Sinclair/McDaniel College

GETTYSBURG, Pa. – Mike Tancredi (Wall, N.J./Wall Twp.) finished second at 133 to lead McDaniel to a sixth-place showing at the 2012 Centennial Conference (CC) wrestling championship hosted by Gettysburg on Saturday.

The Green Terror finished with 27.5 points at the first nine-team championship meet. Johns Hopkins won its first title with 79 points, overtaking Ursinus behind five individual crowns.

In addition to Tancredi's second-place finish, three other McDaniel wrestlers placed fourth at their respective weight classes. Mike O'Boyle (North Reading, Mass./North Reading) was fourth at 125 as a freshman while Mason Goretsas (Hampstead, Md./North Carroll) and Brent Lowe (Dumfries, Va./Forest Park) finished fourth at 141 and 157, respectively.

Tancredi opened his day with a 17-0 technical fall of Johns Hopkins' Michael Koren before advancing to the championship bout with an 8-6 sudden-victory win over Gettysburg's Matt Spano.

In the title bout, Ursinus' Alex Blank notched a 5-2 win to relegate Tancredi to second place.

O'Boyle opened his first CC championship meet with a 2-minute, 39-second fall over Anthony Geiger (Stevens) before falling the consolation bracket with a 4-2 loss to Christopher Donaldson (Ursinus).

In the consolation semifinals, O'Boyle notched a 5-3 win over NYU's Janik Santana-Quintana before falling to Gettysburg's Abe Evans 6-3 in the third-place match.

Goretsas took much the same path as O'Boyle to his fourth-place showing. He opened with a 7-6 win over NYU's Matthew DiGiovanni before falling to eventual champion Paul Marcello (Johns Hopkins), 4-3.

In the consolation semifinals, Goretsas defeated Conor Duffey (Washington and Lee) 8-5 before falling 3-2 to Ursinus' Elisha Gaylor in the third-place bout.

Lowe added to his conference-leading 10 technical falls with two more, opening his day with a 15-0 first-period match termination of Steven's Jake O'Dell. David Dennis (Washington and Lee) notched a 6-4 win to push Lowe to the consolation bracket.

In the consolation semifinals, Lowe recorded an 18-2 win over Mathew Hiltz (Merchant Marine) midway through the second period before Ursinus' Richard Jasinski notched a 12-3 major decision over Lowe in the third-place match.

Logan Yox (Westminster, Md./Liberty) and Sean McGarry (Ocean City, Md./Stephen Decatur) added single wins on the day for the Green Terror.

Eventual champion Henry Stauber (Johns Hopkins) pinned Yox in 2:23 before Yox notched a 3-2 win over Haroutioun Kotchinian (Washington and Lee) in his first bout of the 149 consolation bracket. Yox fell to Martin Bell 6-5 in his next match.

McGarry opened his day at 165, being pinned by top-seeded Zach Thomson (Gettysburg) late in the bout. In his first match of the consolation bracket, McGarry notched a 6-2 win over Daniel Igle (Washington and Lee) before falling to David Rice (NYU), 12-2.

Team Scores: 1. Johns Hopkins (J) 79, 2. Ursinus (U) 73.5, 3. Stevens (S) 64.5, 4. Gettysburg (G) 53.5, 5. Merchant Marine (MM) 48, 6. McDaniel (Mc) 27.5, 7. New York University (N) 24.5, 8. Washington and Lee (W) 21.5, 9. Muhlenberg (Mu) 15.

McDaniel Results: 125: Mike O'Boyle pinned Anthony Geiger (S) 2:39, Christopher Donaldson (U) dec. O'Boyle 4-2, O'Boyle dec. Janik Santana-Quinta 5-3, Abe Evans (G) dec. O'Boyle 6-3; 133: Mike Tancredi tech. fell Michael Koren (J) 17-0 (6:30), Tancredi dec. Matt Spano (G) 8-6 (SV1), Alex Blank (U) dec. Tancredi 5-2; 141: Mason Goretsas dec. Matthew DiGiovanni (N) 7-6, Paul Marcello (J) dec. Goretsas 4-3, Goretsas dec. Conor Duffey (W) 8-5, Elisha Gaylor (U) dec. Goretsas 3-2; 149: Henry Stauber pinned Logan Yox 2:23, Yox dec. Haroutioun Kotchinan (W) 3-2, Martin Bell dec. Yox 6-5; 157: Brent Lowe tech. fell Jake O'Dell 15-0 (2:45), David Dennis (W) dec. Lowe 6-4, Lowe tech. fell Mathew Hiltz (MM) 18-2 (3:59), Richard Jasinski (U) maj. dec. Lowe 12-3; 165: Zach Thomson (G) pinned Sean McGarry 6:48, McGarry dec. Daniel Igel (W) 6-2, David Rice (N) maj. dec. McGarry 12-2; 174: Kyle Diesel (MM) dec. Jacob Reik 3-0, Travis Laska (J) dec. Reik 3-2; 184: Jonathan Sternlicht (Mu) pinned Scott Forrester 3:28, Ben Finelli (J) dec. Forrester 6-4; 197: Alex Moreno (S) dec. Mike Meekins 8-4, Marshal Puls (G) dec. Meekins 9-5; HWT: none.