Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Goretsas, Lowe win by fall

Joe Camlin  2012 David Sinclair/McDaniel College
Joe Camlin 2012 David Sinclair/McDaniel College

WESTMINSTER, Md. – McDaniel and Gettysburg each won five bouts but a forfeit win at 149 proved to be the difference in the Green Terror's 24-21 Centennial Conference (CC) wrestling victory on Wednesday.

Joe Camlin (Westminster, Md./Winters Mill) had the final say on the night for McDaniel (3-7, 2-3 CC), edging out a 6-5 victory at heavyweight to break a 21-all deadlock.

Mason Goretsas (Hampstead, Md./North Carroll) and Brent Lowe (Dumfries, Va./Forest Park) each recorded pins for the Green Terror.

Matt Spano and Zach Thomson led the Bullets (4-6, 1-3 CC) with a pair of pins.

With the match on the line, Camlin found himself in a 4-3 hole to Kevin Poplaski after two periods but worked an escape early in the third period to knot the score at 4-all. With about a minute remaining in the bout, Camlin recorded a takedown before Poplaski escaped with 25 seconds left to set the final margin.

Abe Evans opened the night with a 7-4 win for Gettysburg at 125 before Spano stretched the lead to 9-0 with a 6-minute, 26-second fall at 133.

Goretsas and Lowe responded with pins around a Logan Yox (Westminster, Md./Liberty) forfeit win at 149 to make it an 18-9 match.

Goretsas's fall at 141 came in 2:37 while Lowe pinned his 157-pound opponent in 4:30.

Thomson rounded out the quartet of falls, winning in 4:09 at 165 to draw the hosts within 18-15.

Jared Leon knotted the match at 18-all with a 6-1 victory at 174 before Scott Forrester (Manchester, N.J./Manchester Twp.) and Marshall Puls traded wins to set up the final bout.

Forrester won 12-6 at 184 while Puls was victorious 8-5 at 197.

The Green Terror returns to action at Delaware Valley on Thursday. Match time is 7 p.m.

McDaniel 24, Gettysburg 21

125: Abe Evans (G) dec. Mike O'Boyle 7-4; 133: Matt Spano (G) pinned Sean Ensign 6:26; 141: Mason Goretsas (M) pinned Tony Stanell 2:37; 149: Logan Yox (M) won by forfeit; 157: Brent Lowe (M) pinned Joe Fiore 4:30; 165: Zach Thomson (G) pinned Torin Lehman 4:09; 174: Jared Leon (G) dec. Jacob Reik 6-1; 184: Scott Forrester (M) dec. Anthony Iorio 12-6; 197: Marshall Puls (G) dec. Sule Marquez-Monsanto 8-5; HWT: Joe Camlin (M) dec. Kevin Poplaski 6-5.


Making the grade
June 13, 2012 Making the grade
Tancredi finishes second
February 25, 2012 Tancredi finishes second
Camlin wins by fall
February 14, 2012 Camlin wins by fall
Camlin wins twice
February 11, 2012 Camlin wins twice
Camlin records three falls
February 4, 2012 Camlin records three falls
Making the grade
February 2, 2012 Making the grade
Yox wins at 149
January 29, 2012 Yox wins at 149
Meekins keeps it to two
January 26, 2012 Meekins keeps it to two
Goretsas, Lowe win by fall
January 25, 2012 Goretsas, Lowe win by fall
Lowe, Camlin go 3-0
January 21, 2012 Lowe, Camlin go 3-0
O’Boyle, Camlin go 3-1
January 7, 2012 O’Boyle, Camlin go 3-1
Lowe wins 157 crown
November 12, 2011 Lowe wins 157 crown
Camlin wins by fall
November 9, 2011 Camlin wins by fall
Camlin, O’Boyle win
November 5, 2011 Camlin, O’Boyle win
Younger but stronger
November 4, 2011 Younger but stronger