Fours wild

Brock Glotfelty © 2010 David Sinclair/McDaniel College
Brock Glotfelty © 2010 David Sinclair/McDaniel College

Glotfelty earns Chris Clifford Award, wildcard selection

LEXINGTON, Va. – Brock Glotfelty (Grantsville, Md./Northern Garrett) finished second at heavyweight but did earn the conference's single wildcard selection, leading McDaniel to a fifth-place finish at the 2011 Centennial Conference (CC) wrestling championships hosted by Washington and Lee on Saturday.

As a team, the Green Terror amassed 32.5 points behind four fourth-place showings in addition to Glotfelty's second. Merchant Marine won the team title with 115 points, outdistancing Johns Hopkins by 39.5 points.

The two-time defending champion, Glotfelty dropped a 6-5 decision to CC Wrestler of the Year and Most Outstanding Performer Jud Connell (Merchant Marine). Glotfely had the bracket's lone bye to open the day before pinning Ursinus' William Cornely in 1:33 to reach the title bout for the fourth straight year.

Glotfelty, however, did receive the wildcard bid to the NCAA Division III championships, which will be held Mar. 11-12 in La Crosse, Wis. Glotfelty was also named the Chris Clifford Award winner for the most career points in the tournament. He is the second McDaniel wrestler to earn the award, joining Charlie Conaway – the Green Terror's all-time wins leader before Glotfelty broke his mark earlier this season. Conaway won the inaugural award in 2000.

PJ Farinella (Livingston, N.J./Livingston), Mike Tancredi (Wall, N.J./Wall Twp.), Logan Yox (Westminster, Md./Liberty) and Will Yeo (Lexington Park, Md./Great Mills) rounded out McDaniel's placefinishers. The quartet all finished fourth in their respective weight classes.

Farinella, the fourth seed at 125, opened his day with a bye before dropping a 6-0 decision to top-seeded and eventual champion Jordan Alfaro (Merchant Marine). In the consolation bracket, Farinella took a 9-0 win over Brad Warren (Stevens) before falling 10-1 to Johns Hopkins' Ray Yagloski in the third-place bout.

Tancredi, the fourth seed at 141, won his first match 3-2 before falling to Stevens' Ryan Bridge, the top seed and eventual champion, in the semifinals, 13-1. Tancredi took a 3-2 decision to advance to the third-place match before falling 2-1 to the No. 3 seed Duncan Crystal (Johns Hopkins).

Yox dropped to the consolation bracket with a 3-0 loss to top-seeded Connor McCormick (Ursinus) before wrestling back to a fourth-place finish with 11-0 and 7-2 wins before falling once again to McCormick in the third-place bout, 8-1.

Yeo, the fifth seed at 197, opened his day with a 5-minute, 23-second fall before dropping an 8-7 decision to top-seeded Reid Mosquera, who won the weight class.

Yeo added a fall in 4:38 before dropping an 8-3 decision in the third-place match.

Tom Goretsas (Hampstead, Md./North Carroll), the third seed at 133, won his first bout 12-2 before injury defaulting out of the tournament.

Team Scores: 1. Merchant Marine (MM) 115, 2. Johns Hopkins (J) 75.5, 3. Stevens (S) 60.5, 4. Ursinus (U) 50, 5. McDaniel (McD) 32.5, 6. Gettysburg (G) 28, 7. Muhlenberg (Mu) 22.5, 8. Washington and Lee (W) 6.

McDaniel Results: 125: #1 Jordan Alfaro (MM) dec. #4 PJ Farinella 6-0, Farinella maj. dec. Brad Warren (S) 9-0, #3 Ray Yagloski (J) maj. dec. Farinella 10-1; 133: #3 Tom Goretsas maj. dec. Matt Spano (G) 12-2; 141: #4 Mike Tancredi dec. Dan Traficanti (G) 3-2, #1 Ryan Bridge (S) maj. dec. Tancredi 13-1, Tancredi dec. Samuel Campbell (W) 3-2, #4 Duncan Crystal (J) dec. Tancredi 2-1; 149: #1 Connor McCormick (U) dec. Logan Yox 3-0, Yox maj. dec. Matt Danielson (G) 11-0, Yox dec. Kevin Homan (Mu) 7-2, McCormick dec. Yox 8-1; 157: #2 Matt Fusaro (J) pinned Torin Lehmann 4:29, #6 Keith Swanson (Mu) pinned Lehmann 1:58; 165: #2 David Dennis (W) dec. Matt Peters 7-1, Jonathan Sternlicht (Mu) pinned Peters 0:16; 174: #4 Jared Leon dec. Chris Urps 7-1, #3 Pat Stanley (J) pinned Urps 5:18; 184: Scott Forrester dec. #3 Robert Bishop 10-5, #2 Scott Lowe (MM) tech. fell Forrester 16-0 (5:46), #5 Ben Finelli (J) maj. dec. Forrester 12-4; 197: #5 Will Yeo pinned #4 Vincent Termini (S) 5:23, Yeo pinned Luke Mitchell (G) 4:38, #2 Eric Scott (MM) dec. Yeo 8-3; HWT: #2 Brock Glotfelty pinned #3 William Cornley 1:33, #1 Jud Connell dec. Glotfelty 6-5.