Glotfelty wins four times in McDaniel split

Brock Glotfelty © 2011 David Sinclair/McDaniel College
Brock Glotfelty © 2011 David Sinclair/McDaniel College

Green Terror splits pair of conference, non-conference matches

WESTMINSTER, Md. – Brock Glotfelty (Grantsville, Md./Northern Garrett) won four matches, including three by first-period fall, to lead McDaniel to a split in four wrestling matches on Saturday.

The Green Terror (6-11, 3-4 CC) opened the day, falling to Ursinus by a 23-16 margin in Centennial Conference (CC) action. McDaniel followed with a 25-16 non-conference win over SUNY Oswego before falling to New York University, 22-18. The Green Terror closed the day with a 33-21 CC victory over Muhlenberg.

In the opening match, the Bears (12-2, 5-2 CC) recorded five straight victories in the middle of match to open up a 23-9 lead en route to the victory.

PJ Farinella (Livingston, N.J./Livingston) opened the action with a 2-minute, 19-second fall at 125 before Alex Blank trimmed the deficit in half with a 3-2 win at 133.

Mike Tancredi (Wall, N.J./Wall Twp.) used a 3-2 win of his own to reestablish the six-point lead before Conor McCormick opened the five-bout streak for Ursinus with a 10-2 major decision.

John Whitham (165) added a first-period fall and Myles Tornetta (174) won 4-2 in the first sudden-victory period to key the stretch.

Will Yeo (Lexington Park, Md./Great Mills) and Glotfelty rounded out the day with victories for McDaniel. Yeo won 11-9 at 197 while Glotfelty was victorious by major decision 10-2 at heavyweight.

Against the Lakers (5-11), the Green Terror closed the match with five straight wins to overcome a 16-3 deficit.

Matt Peters (Annandale, Va./W.T. Woodson) opened the rally with an 11-3 major decision at 165 before Chris Urps (Pasadena, Md./Chesapeake) and Scott Forrester (Manchester, N.J./Manchester Twp.) added decision victories. Urps won 3-0 at 174 while Forrester took a 3-1 decision at 184.

Yeo won by forfeit before Glotfelty recorded a 1-minute, 46-second pin.

Tancredi was the lone McDaniel victor in the first five bouts, winning 11-4 at 141. Mike Gentilcore (125) keyed the opening stretch with a 2-minute, 3-second fall at 125.

A 5-4 victory by Sabino Galassi at 197 proved to be the difference the Violets (7-10) for a three-point win.

Earl Eppard (Baltimore, Md./Lansdowne), Tom Goretsas (Hampstead, Md./North Carroll), Tancredi and Logan Yox (Westminster, Md./Liberty) staked the Green Terror to a 12-0 lead through four bouts.

Eppard (125) won 9-6, Goretsas (133) took an 11-7, Tancredi (141) was victorious 5-2 and Yox (149) won, 8-5.

Dan Gorman (157) sparked the five-bout rally for NYU with a fall in 1:04 while David Rice (184) added a second first-period fall.

Glotfelty rounded out the action with a 32-second pin at heavyweight.

McDaniel was awarded four forfeit victories and received a 1-minute, 52-second pin from Glotfelty to key a win over the Mules (1-13, 0-7 CC) in the squad's final conference action of the dual-meet season.

Farinella earned a 7-2 win for the Green Terror at 133 as the only other non-forfeit victory.

James Young III (Fairfax Station, Va./Bishop O'Connell) at 125, James McGarry (Ocean City, Md./Stephen Decatur) at 141, Urps at 174 and Yeo at 197 won by forfeit.

Yeo finished his day 3-1 with two forfeits while Urps was 2-2 and Farinella went 2-1.

McDaniel returns to action at home against York (Pa.) on Friday. Match time is 7 p.m.

Ursinus 23, McDaniel 16

125: PJ Farinella (M) pinned Lauralee Lightwood-Mater 2:19; 133: Alex Blank (U) dec. Tom Goretsas 3-2; 141: Mike Tancredi (M) dec. Curtis Watkins 3-2; 149: Connor McCormick (U) maj. dec. Logan Yox 10-2; 157: John Whitham (U) pinned Torin Lehmann 1:14; 165: Andrew Corbett (U) dec. Matt Peters 9-6; 174: Myles Tornetta (U) dec. Chris Urps 4-2 (SV1); 184: Nate Murren (U) maj. dec. Scott Forrester 11-0; 197: Will Yeo (M) dec. Teddy Conrad 11-9; HWT: Brock Glotfelty (M) maj. dec. Ed Minelli 10-2.

McDaniel 25, SUNY Oswego 16

125: Mike Gentilcore (O) pinned James Young 2:03; 133: Omar Santiago (O) dec. PJ Farinella 2-1; 141: Mike Tancredi (M) dec. Randy Sisenstein 11-4; 149: Chris Payne (O) dec. Logan Yox 6-4; 157: Nick Rodgers (O) maj. dec. Tom Boehm 13-0; 165: Matt Peters (M) maj. dec. Nick Massaro 11-3; 174: Chris Urps (M) dec. Danny Sutherland 3-0; 184: Scott Forrester (M) dec. Kevin Shirley 3-1; 197: Will Yeo (M) won by forfeit; HWT: Brock Glotfelty (M) pinned Joe Pesce 1:46.

NYU 22, McDaniel 18

125: Earl Eppard (M) dec. Will Ladnier 9-6; 133: Tom Goretsas (M) dec. Steven Contino 11-7; 141: Mike Tancredi (M) dec. Adlee Fayyaz 5-2; 149: Logan Yox (M) dec. Clement Commier 8-5; 157: Dan Gorman (N) pinned Torin Lehmann 1:04; 165: Matt Magill (N) maj. dec. Matt Peters 13-2; 174: Jakub Pawlowski (N) dec. Chris Urps 10-6; 184: David Rice (N) pinned Scott Forrester 0:48; 197: Sabino Galassi (N) dec. Will Yeo 5-4; HWT: Brock Glotfelty (M) pinned Rudy De La Cruz 0:32.

McDaniel 33, Muhlenberg 21

125: James Young (Mc) won by forfeit; 133: PJ Farinella (Mc) dec. Mike Selvin 7-2; 141: James McGarry (Mc) won by forfeit; 149: Kevin Homan (Mu) pinned Tim Hall 1:25; 157: Keith Swanson (Mu) pinned Tom Boehm 6:30; 165: Pat Gibson (Mu) dec. Matt Peters 7-3; 174: Chris Urps (Mc) won by forfeit; 184: Bill Sholly (Mu) won by disqualification Brad Thomas 6:55; 197: Will Yeo (Mc) won by forfeit; HWT: Brock Glotfelty (Mc) pinned Nick Pallotta 1:52.