Nuckles wins twice

Patrick Rogers  2011 David Sinclair/McDaniel College
Patrick Rogers 2011 David Sinclair/McDaniel College

WESTMINSTER, Md. – St. Mary's (Md.) won nine times, including two in Harlow Pool-record times, to defeat McDaniel 64-31 in non-conference men's swimming action on Saturday.

Bryan Nuckles (Suffolk, Va./Nansemond-Suffolk Academy) notched two wins for the Green Terror (1-5), touching first in the 50 (21.91 seconds) and 100 (49.13) freestyles.

Ben Immink and Billy Deboissiere led the Seahawks (9-1) with three-win outings.

Immink and Deboissiere joined Bobby Witkop and Cameron Hedquist on the 400 medley relay, which opened the meet with a victory in a time of 3:39.53.

Immink added individual wins in the 1000 free (10:48.42) and 200 backstroke (2:03.26) while Deboissiere touched first in the 200 IM with a pool-record time of 2:00.01 and the 500 free (5:03.65).

Hedquist, Jackson Holden, Chris Coghill and Jimmy Forrest also combined for a pool-record performance, winning the 400 free relay in a time of 2:47.21.

McDaniel's quartet of Patrick Rogers (Landisville, Pa./Hempfield), Jon Hartzel (Gettysburg, Pa./Gettysburg), Jono Leafblad (Garnee, Ill./Warren Twp.) and Jason Harder (Philadelphia, Pa./Pennington) finished second in the event but set a new Green Terror program record with a time of 3:07.37.

Thor Petersen won twice for St. Mary's, touching first in the 200 free (1:49.33) and 200 butterfly (2:04.97).

Steve Hoyt (Glastonbury, Conn./Glastonvury), James Eu (Reston, Va./Hargrave Military Academy), Jesse Mills (Catonsville, Md./Mt. St. Joseph) and Nuckles combined to finish second in the 400 medley relay, turning in the fifth-best performance in program history with a time of 3:44.00.

Rogers and Hoyt went 2-3 in the 200 free with times of 1:49.71 and 1:52.27, respectively, while Hoyt and Hartzel were 2-3 in the 200 backstroke with times of 2:05.96 and 2:07.52, respectively. Hoyt's time ranks eighth on the all-time list.

Eu and Leafblad made it a third 2-3 finish for McDaniel, finishing with times of 2:23.00 and 2:25.17, respectively, in the 200 breaststroke.

The Green Terror returns to action at the Franklin & Marshall Invitational on Dec. 3-4.

St. Mary's (Md.) 64, McDaniel 31

Event Winners: 400 Medley Relay – St. Mary's A (Ben Immink, Billy Deboissiere, Bobby Witkop, Cameron Hedquist) 3:39.53; 1000 Freestyle – Immink (S) 10:48.42, 200 Freestyle – Thor Petersen (S) 1:49.33; 50 Freestyle – Bryan Nuckles (M) 21.91; 200 IM – Deboissiere (S) 2:00.01^; 200 Butterfly – Petersen (S) 2:04.97; 100 Freestyle – Nuckles (M) 49.13; 200 Backstroke – Immink (S) 2:03.26; 500 Freestyle – Deboissiere (S) 5:03.65; 200 Breaststroke – Petersen (S) 2:15.96; 400 Freestyle Relay – St. Mary's A (Hedquist, Jackson Holden, Chris Coghill, Jimmy Forest) 2:47.21^.

^ Harlow Pool record