Haverford downs McDaniel 9-8 in CC semifinals

HAVERFORD, Pa. – Max Hjelm tallied twice to lead eighth-ranked Haverford to a 9-8 victory over McDaniel in the 2009 Centennial Conference (CC) men’s lacrosse semifinals on Friday.

            The top-seeded Fords (13-2) opened a 9-6 advantage on Hjelm’s second goal with 6:13 to play before holding off a late charge by the Green Terror (10-6) to advance to their first CC championship game.
            Matthew Daley (Wilmington, Del./A.I. Dupont) and DJ Rickels (Forest Hill, Md./Boys Latin School of Maryland) scored twice for McDaniel.
            Daley staked the Green Terror to an early 1-0 lead, finishing a Gibbs Preston (Baltimore, Md./McDonogh) assist just 2:31 into the game.
            Matt Turnier evened the game at the 10:05 mark before Brian Fleishhacker and Grant Firestone connected for the next two goals to stretch the lead to 3-1 at the end of the first quarter, including Firestone’s marker with 0.8 seconds to play in the opening period.
            Jed Barnes (Severna Park, Md./Severna Park) trimmed the deficit to one with 10:57 to play in the second quarter before back-to-back goals from Andrew Kim and Myles Monaghan stretched the lead to 5-2 with 1:26 showing.
            With 27 seconds to play in the quarter, Daley closed the gap to two before Preston made it a one-goal game with 11:17 showing in the third period.
            Phillip Valliant and Evan Young (Easton, Md./Broadneck) traded tallies before Jason Leeds and Hjelm stretched the lead to 8-5 with 8:04 to play in regulation.
            Mike Hatton (Corning, N.Y./Corning East) made it an 8-6 game before Hjelm stretched the lead to three for the final time.
            Back-to-back tallies from Rickels, including a man-up tally with 4:23 to play set the final margin.
            Preston finished with five assists for McDaniel.
Score by Quarters                                    1          2          3          4          -           F
McDaniel (10-6)                                        1          2          2          3          -           8
No. 8 Haverford (13-2)                             3          2          2          2          -           9
McDaniel: Matthew Daley 2, DJ Rickels 2, Gibbs Preston, Mike Hatton, Jed Barnes, Evan Young.
Haverford: Max Hjelm 2, Brian Fleishhacker, Andrew Kim, Grant Firestone, Myles Monaghan, Phillip Valliant, Jason Leeeds, Matt Turnier.
McDaniel: Preston 5, Warner.
Haverford: Fleishhacke 2, Kim 2, Firestone, Monaghan.
Shots: M 36, H 28. Ground Balls: M 18, H 15. Goalies: M (Kenny McHugh 60:00 – 10 saves, 9 GA), H (Joe Banno 60:00 – 9 saves, 8 GA). Extra-Man: M 1 of 1, H 0 of 0. Face-Offs: M 9, H 11. Clearing: M 12 of 16, H 14 of 15. Penalties: M 0 for 0:00, H 1 for 0:30.