Football opens spring practice

Coach Hoyt on the field for Day One of spring football practice.

WESTMINSTER, Md. – A new era has officially begun with McDaniel football. Mike Hoyt, who was hired as the program's 24th head coach on Mar. 5, ran his first spring practice on Tuesday in preparation for the 118th campaign.

The Green Terror has 65 current student-athletes who will participate in 16 two-hour practices over the next four weeks. The squad will also hold 16 position meetings over the same period to assist in implementing Hoyt's offensive and defensive systems.

The team is scheduled to practice on the following dates:

Tuesday, Mar. 27: 4:30-6:30 p.m. (grass)
Friday, Mar. 30: 4:30-6:30 p.m. (grass)
Saturday, Mar. 31: 4:30-6:30 p.m. (turf)
Tuesday, Apr. 3: 4:30-6:30 p.m. (grass)
Monday, Apr. 9: 4:30-6:30 p.m. (grass)
Tuesday, Apr. 10: 4:30-6:30 p.m. (grass)
Friday, Apr. 13: 4:30-6:30 p.m. (grass)
Saturday, Apr. 14: 9-11 a.m. (turf)
Monday, Apr. 16: 4:30-6:30 p.m. (grass)
Tuesday, Apr. 17: 4:30-6:30 p.m. (grass)
Friday, Apr. 20: 4:30-6:30 p.m. (grass)
Saturday, Apr. 21: 9-11 a.m. (turf)
Monday, Apr. 23: 4:30-6:30 p.m. (grass)
Tuesday, Apr. 24: 4:30-6:30 p.m. (grass)
Friday, Apr. 27: 4:30-6:30 p.m. (grass)
Saturday, Apr. 28: 9-11 a.m. (turf)

All practices are open.

McDaniel has also released its tentative schedule for the 2012 season. The schedule can be accessed at www.mcdanielathletics.com/sports/fball/2012-13/schedule. The 118th campaign will open with a night game at Catholic on Friday, Aug. 31, beginning at 7 p.m.

-30-

View: Mobile | Desktop